I Endorse Jill Stein for President in 2016

I am supporting Jill Stein for President of the United States in the 2016 general election, and I will be voting for her on November 8.  Why?  Because I agree with her on most issues, and I share her belief that this country needs and deserves a strong, compassionate government that works proactively to help all Americans.   I supported Bernie Sanders in the Democratic primaries, and Stein is easily the closest candidate ideologically to Sanders.  I have read her platform and while it’s pretty light on specifics, what is there is awesome – basically Bernie Sanders on steroids.

 

Stein has been the target of vicious criticism from Hillary Clinton supporters, who think that she’s going to take away enough left-leaning votes from Clinton to cost Clinton the election.  That is highly unlikely – not only is Clinton favored to win (even as the race is supposedly tightening in these last few days), but if she does lose, it won’t be because of Stein, who is taking too low a percentage of the vote to be the margin of difference.  In any case, the bottom line is, I’m not going to be the deciding vote.  Even if a bunch of other people think the same way and vote for Stein and throw the election to Donald Trump, I’m still not going to be the deciding vote.  In other words, I could vote for Clinton to “save us all” from Trump (as the histrionics usually go) and it would make no difference; Trump would still win.

 

Attacks on Stein have largely focused around three things:

 

  1. “Her proposals are unfeasible and not based in reality.” This is especially lodged against her centerpiece proposal to erase student debt through quantitative easing.  I accept that Stein’s understanding of quantitative easing is lacking and some of  her proposals in their current form are unworkable or lack specifics.  But her intentions and convictions are in the right place, which I think is more important than the details of campaign proposals which won’t be the exact same as final legislative outcomes anyway.
  2. “She is against vaccination and believes they contribute to autism.” This is False.  Moreover, as the President has almost no control over vaccination policies in schools, this is largely irrelevant to the office she’s running for.
  3. “She thinks that Wi-Fi damages people’s brains”. This is a somewhat stronger claim than the autism charge, but it’s been blown way out of proportion.  Again, I fail to see how this is relevant to decisions that Stein will actually be making as President.

 

You might be wondering, why not vote for Hillary Clinton?  Well, I can’t type up my own long list right now, so I’ll borrow someone else’s that encompasses my own and more.  Please read “The Definitive, Encyclopedic Case For Why Hillary Clinton is the Wrong Choice”, for, well, the definitive case against Hillary Clinton from the left.

 

For the record, Hillary Clinton is one of my least favorite politicians alive today (in any political party).  If Jill Stein were not running, I would not vote for Clinton; I would either vote for another leftist candidate or abstain from voting in that race altogether.  The only thing I look forward to with regard to Clinton is a speedy end to her political career, and I refuse to do anything to contribute to it.  That said, in the unlikely event that Clinton governs in a very liberal fashion as President, I will consider voting for her if she runs for reelection in 2020.

 

I encourage all of my fellow leftists and former Bernie Sanders supporters to join me in supporting Jill Stein for President!

Leave a Reply

